Mirror, Mirror on the… Floor?

June 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

We haven’t had a full-length mirror in our dressing area since moving in. The rental had big, beautiful closets with big, beautiful mirrored sliding doors. For this house we got your dime-a-dozen builder closets. (I am grateful to have them, don’t get me wrong, but they could be so much better.)

I really like the look of a substantial mirror, and I’ve been dreaming of one for quite some time.

Reading corner with large mirror

WohnIdee 6/2006.

Dining room with floor mirror

Small Room Decorating, Winter 2010.

Floor mirror in a corner

Real Simple.

Bedroom with standing mirror

Marimekko / Crate & Barrel.

Bedroom with large floor mirror

Small Room Decorating, Nr. 90, 2006.

As wonderful as a huge mirror would be, however, it has to work for us to be worth it. There aren’t many spots in our bedroom where a big mirror could live. During our recent IKEA trip I looked at the options there and mulled things over. It was basically a choice between four mirrors:

Four mirrors

IKEA mirrors, left to right: Stave in oak, Hovet, Hemnes in black, and Hemnes in white. Inter IKEA Systems B.V.

I was thinking of the wider of the Stave mirrors, but seeing the narrow version lit a bulb in my head. We could just fit the 15-inch mirror between Mr. E’s dresser and the closet without it looking ridiculous, and the closet door should have enough cleareance to allow the mirror to lean against the wall.

Today when I was installing my new treasure, I started rethinking. Not regretting, mind you; I’m still very happy with the mirror. Seeing it on site, however, made me realize that this particular mirror in this particular spot would be better hanging, not leaning. And that’s what I did!

Our new bedroom dressing mirror

Quite lovely. šŸ™‚

Now… new rugs, a big piece of artwork over Mr. E’s dresser, and maybe a new chandelier… A girl can dream, right?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mirror, Mirror on the… Floor? at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

