Straight Stitch Magic

June 28, 2010 § 1 Comment

Last week I was working on my sheers project. However, I misremembered what my fabric stash contains. I didn’t have materials for sheers at hand as I thought. I desperately wanted to start sewing NOW, though, so I grabbed some green and some blue and made pillows.

The blue tops were a little bland on their own. A little something was in order, but it had to be easy and it had to be fast. After looking through my tear sheet binders for inspiration, I came up with this free-form grass pattern. Best of all, the whole pillow takes nothing more complicated than straight stitches.

Back and Front

I used a piece of an old sheet as interfacing, and just drew the blades of grass on it with a pencil. Then, layering the interfacing with the blue fabric, I just sewed on the lines with a straight stitch from bottom to tip and back. I reinforced a few blades with another round trip.

Blue Pillow Detail

Like so.

Here they are in their new home!

Pillows on sofa

Blue Pillow

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Straight Stitch Magic

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Straight Stitch Magic at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

