From Hot Pink to Cool White

July 28, 2010 § 2 Comments

Inspired by my distress-it-yourself photo frame, I purchased a discounted mirror some time ago to go on my office / sewing room wall. I liked the shape of it, and the detail on the frame, but the frame was hot pink. Hot pink! The paint was in good shape, and I might have kept it to coordinate with the few splashes of red and pink I already have; however, it’s not my first pick to go on a orangey-yellow wall.

Hot Pink Mirror

As you can see, not a good choice for this wall color.

I wanted to paint the frame white to go with the molding in our house. Yesterday it was less humid than it’s been for weeks – the perfect chance to get the project underway! I still had some white spray lacquer leftover from other projects. First I sanded the frame to help the paint adhere to the wood.

I was hoping to sand more paint off, but the pink turned out very stubborn. The inset in the picture below has been manipulated with a photo editor to better show how little came off: the lower half was sanded, the upper wasn’t.

Frame detail while sanding

In the end I might have gotten away with no sanding, but I wanted to be sure that the result was going to be good. After sanding and wiping the frame with a tack cloth, it was time for some quality time. Goodbye hot pink, I will never want to see you again! (Mrs. E. In the garage. With spray paint.)

Pink Mirror Before

I wanted the finish to be smooth, so I sprayed four thin layers spaced about half an hour apart.

Pink Mirror After

Much, much better! Now I only need to learn to take better photos indoors. 😀

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to From Hot Pink to Cool White

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From Hot Pink to Cool White at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

