Office Reveal: Before and After

November 9, 2010 § 5 Comments

The master suite in our house is a large space. We, however, only use our bedroom for sleeping in (and storing our clothes), so we picked one of the extra bedrooms for ourselves and turned the master into a guest / tv / sewing room / office.

Here’s the space when we bought the house:

Guest Before Mashup

Clockwise from top left: western half of the space, the linen closet corner, eastern half, and the eastern half seen from the large west windows. This image (bottom left) was taken before the floors were installed.

After moving in, I separated the two halves – my office / sewing space and the guest / tv room – with a ‘wall’ made of low bookcases. For a while now I’ve been unhappy with the arrangement, though. Too much space was dedicated to an occasional activity (tv) while my office-y activities and sewing didn’t quite have enough.

I don’t have many pictures of the room at this stage, because I just wasn’t excited about it, but a few glimpses have been seen in past posts:

Past Glimpses

My office half of the room is visible in the ‘during’ post. Of course it wasn’t usually full of books, clothing, and other projects. Well, not that full. Well, not that often. Ahem. 😉

Office During Nov 2010

I arrived at the new arrangement by playing with my pieces of paper:

Room Arrangement Before After

Left: Room arrangement that used to be. My office and sewing space were in the smaller (eastern) half of the room, while tv and guest room too over the western half. Right: New and improved arrangement. I flipped the halves and moved the row of room divider book cases along the south wall.

Moving the book cases along the lowest wall helped a lot. Flipping the two sides proved even better. Now I have plenty of floor space and light in the western half of the room for sewing projects:

New Desk Area
Was Guest Now Office

The corner with the linen closet by the bathroom door was always a problem for me. As a stopgap measure, I hung two mirrors. Later I pushed Mr. E’s great-grandmother’s rocking chair into it, but it made accessing supplies difficult. In its current incarnation, the corner acts as a landing zone for items that didn’t find a natural home elsewhere (the little table). Plus, it’s the perfect location for me to do ironing in. No more blocking my desk with the ironing board!

Ironing Corner Mashup

If I replaced the mirrors with art, it would look even nicer, but let’s not be too picky at this stage.

For comparison, here are before and afters:

Eastern Half Mashup
Western Half Mashup

And the weirdest thing I did for this makeover? I weighed magazines to make sure my Ikea Smådal shelves could carry the weight of three loaded magazine holders.

Weighing Magazines

It feels so good to have this done. I do have some odds and ends to take care of, and I should also reorganize the closets. Those I leave for another day, though. Today I’m enjoying my new office.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Office Reveal: Before and After

  • tejehannah says:

    Hello! How wonderful that We have Marimekko! That’s why I ‘found’ you! Nice to meet you! I’m Finnish woman living 19 years in Crete with my Greek husband and our 3 dogs and 1 cat. I write about my sewing, knitting etc. crafts and dogs in our stonehouse in my blog: ‘Nero’s Post and Patch’. You are very welcome to visit us! Hope to see you soon!
    Sunny wishes! Aurinkoiset terveiset! Teje

  • Heather says:

    I love what you’ve done with this space. It makes total sense to utilize it as an office/sewing/tv room instead of a bedroom, especially if you are only using a bedroom for sleep! And you really made it seem cozy in there. With such a big area, it is sometimes hard to make it feel warm and inviting! You did a great job!

    And thank you so much for your nice comments on my dining room. I am in full on cozy-mode at the moment with all of my rooms and it is not easy! I especially like your sketching room plan where you tested out furniture placement before moving everything. I seem to take the move-it-as-you-go approach and it is so much more back-breaking! Great idea though, I will definitely do that in the future! 🙂

    Keep posting, I really like your blog! You have great ideas!

    • ekoti says:

      Thank you, Heather, for your kind words! It is a huge relief to have gotten to the point where you get the this-is-gonna-work-great gut feeling, you know?

  • […] the previous incarnation of my office is going to have photos of […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Office Reveal: Before and After at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

