Our First Thanksgiving

November 29, 2010 § 1 Comment

This year, due to scheduling, Mr. E’s family decided to have their big Thanksgiving dinner on the following Saturday. Mr. E and I decided to have a Thanksgiving of our own.

Foodwise our dinner wasn’t that different from our usual fare. Mr. E cooked seafood Newburg and made Hollandaise sauce to go with steamed artichokes; I baked fresh rieska, a Finnish flatbread. What made the meal special was our table setting:

Thanksgiving table setting

Nothing fancy, but beyond our everyday efforts.

As cheap and fast centerpiece, I took an oval plate and topped it with a glass vase with dried grasses (from elsewhere in the house). Then I grabbed some small balls of white yarn and placed them around the vase.

Thanksgiving Centerpiece

Originally I was trying to make an autumnal setting with fall colors, but I kept getting more inspired by winter, so this is what we got.

Of course we also had Mr. E’s cranberry pie:

Cranberry Pie

Quite by chance I spotted on one of the Nordic home dec blogs that I follow a slightly different take on “snowball” decorations:

Xmas table setting in white

Norske interiørblogger.

Quite charming, don’t you think? I don’t really read Norwegian, but it’s close enough to Swedish that I can usually figure out the main point. And I love looking at pictures that remind me of home.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Our First Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our First Thanksgiving at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

