Bad Catepillars!

October 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, when it was still warmer, I came across a catastrophy on our front yard!

Bad Catepillars

These evil, EVIL caterpillars were EVERYWHERE on my beloved birch saplings! (In case you don’t know, I love birches.) I know that here in Massachusetts I’ll never get a forest full of silver birches that seem to go on forever like in Scandinavia…

Birch Forest

Birches in the Nuuksio National Park, Espoo, Finland.

However, I’ll take al the birches I can get, and I treasure all of the little saplings spontaneously growing on our yard. We have a few spots with a cluster of small saplings. I’ve been waiting until they grow a little bigger to move them to another location. But now they were being EATEN!

Birch Sapling After

They look devastated, don’t they?

So, I tried shaking the buggers off, but there were too many. Then I tried spraying the saplings with vinegar. The caterpillars didn’t seem to like that, and I did see fewer of them the next day. Unfortunately, the birches didn’t look too good either – there was major discoloration on the few remaining leaves. My impromptu DIY solution may have to be reworked for the next time. In the end, I don’t know which is worse, having no leaves left at all, or have a few discolored leaves. I’ll have to see how my birches survive the winter. If they’ll make it, I’ll have to relocate them next spring just so I don’t have all my eggs in one basket.

Just another thing I never imagined home ownership would bring… It’s certainly taught me a lot.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bad Catepillars! at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

