Bolster Pillow Dreams

February 8, 2012 § 2 Comments

I’ve been thinking of making a long bolster pillow. Some inspiration photos I found are below.

This picture has been in my inspiration folder for a long time.

Sunroom

100 Ideas Makeover Style 2007.

Joanna Goddard’s bedroom has one:

Bedroom

Jenny Komenda / Little Green Notebook; photo by Oh Darling Photography.

Found via Little Green Notebook.

Living room

Better Homes & Gardens.

Designer Sarah Richardson’s cottage guestroom has one:

Cottage guestroom

Sarah Richardson.

Sukan sells pillows on Etsy, including long bolsters:

Polka Dot Pillow

Sukan on Etsy.

Spotted just recently in design*sponge.

I’ve been waiting to find a fabric that cries out to be turned into one. Now, thanks to my sister-in-law K, I have a gift card to Fashionable Fabrics, and I’m narrowing down possibilities. I like these very much:

Fabric Choices

Clockwise from top left: Remix Zigzag Stripe in bright by Monaluna; Good Earth Paisley in bright by Alexander Henry Fabrics; Lark Heirloom in Blue Sky by Amy Butler; and Good Life in Garden by Wooster & Prince Papers for Robert Kaufman Fabrics. Fashionable Fabrics.

Here’s a very crude mockup of how a bolster might fit in our guest room / my office:

Mockup Mashup

Hm. I thought I had a winner, but seeing the fabrics in context made me rethink. This may take a while yet…

(Note: I do not not publish sponsored content, or accept gifts or discounts to write about products. Blog posts are based on my personal opinion.)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Bolster Pillow Dreams

  • KHJ says:

    I love the zigzag fabric, but in the mockup photos, I like the dark blue floral (lower left quadrant) best! I’ll be interested to see what you choose.

    • ekoti says:

      I agree, K – the dark blue floral looks the best in the mockups. My other top choice would have been the zigzag, but it’s unfortunately out of stock.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bolster Pillow Dreams at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

