Digital Watercolor Maps

February 5, 2013 § Leave a comment

Stamen Design has created this great web application to turn maps into digital files. They have a few style options, like terrain or toner, but I like the watercolor-look best. I already made a map:

Greater Boston Map

Stamen Design, under CC BY 3.0, with data from OpenStreetMap.

Map tiles by Stamen Design, under CC BY 3.0. Data by OpenStreetMap, under CC BY SA.

The map creation went relatively smoothly. The availability of cities seems limited (for example, Portland, ME isn’t there, but Portland, OR is). Some areas are only available as generic area maps. The good thing is, you can select the dimensions of your map. I had to wait quite a long time for my map to be created, but eventually I got what I wanted. (Not sure whether that was because of the Stamen service or my computer settings.)

This map will become wall art, but you could use them as customized gift wrapping or placemats, for example. Now I just need a frame!

(Note: I do not not publish sponsored content, or accept gifts or discounts to write about products. Blog posts are based on my personal opinion.)

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Digital Watercolor Maps at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

