Very Inspiring Blog Award

February 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

Pinaz at All Good Things nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. What a complete, delightful surprise – thank you, Pinaz! It’s amazing to think that my mostly-to-myself-or-my-family ramblings might inspire someone; I’m glad you thought so.

Inspiring blog award graphic

The rules for accepting a blog award are as follows:
1. Display award image on your blog page.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. State 7 facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.
5. Notify the bloggers that they have been nominated and link to their posts.

My family and friends already know most of the facts below, but since I do have wider audience, here goes #3:

1. I’m a private person.

2. I’m also an introvert.

Introvert care chart

Design by Becky of Questionably Late.

Image by Becky of Questionably Late; found via Whiskeypants.

Contrary to popular belief, introverts aren’t antisocial. We are a misunderstood (and essential) minority. I get physically and mentally exhausted from bustle and social activity, that’s all, and I need alone time to recharge. I’m really lucky to be married to someone who understands and respects my need.

One of the best books on introversion I’ve read is Quiet by Susan Cain. This NPR interview has some excerpts. (And hey, who knew that there is a World Introvert Day.)

3. I love birch, both as a living tree and as material.

Unfortunately I’m allergic to birch pollen. Birch pollen was responsible for one of the most miserable springs in my life.

4. I’m a gamer, geek, and (word) nerd.

I Level Up Poster

Girl Gamer Vogue / KnickLedger.

Image by Girl Gamer Vogue, via KnickLedger.

I try not to mention my geeky hobbies here often, because this blog is mainly about our home and I have another outlet for my geekery. But, just because: borborygmus.

5. I’m a slow writer and a slow thinker. And impatient!

Keep calm poster

Debbie / Keep Calm-o-matic.com.

Image by Debbie, via Keep Calm-o-matic.com.

It takes me a long time to write a post, a letter, an e-mail, anything. Ultimately it’s because I’m a slow thinker, and that’s partly because I’m an introvert. It’s just the way my brain works, and for the most part I’ve made my peace with it. Except when I want to be done RIGHT NOW! 🙂

6. I grew up two hours south of the Arctic Circle.

Arctic circle

Image from Ice Stories blog; additions mine.

Image: Ice Stories blog; I added the text & circled Finland.

Despite having lived in the North Eastern U.S. for over 10 years now, I still catch myself thinking “x is so different here in the south” from time to time. Also, it never ceases to amaze me how far north Finland actually is (we’re so high up we should have a perpetual nosebleed!) and, yet, how non-Arctic the Finnish climate is.

7. I hate spam mail, both the physical and electronic kinds.

Making a purchase is not a tacit agreement to receive unasked-for materials, nor should it be. Spam is intrusive, arrogant, and wasteful.

Facts #1, #2, and #7 are why I won’t nominate 15 other bloggers. Not that there aren’t talented, inspiring, noteworthy bloggers out there; quite the opposite. I’m not sure I could pick only 15!

Thank you again, Pinaz, for the lovely surprise. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

(Note: I do not not publish sponsored content, or accept gifts or discounts to write about products. Blog posts are based on my personal opinion.)

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Very Inspiring Blog Award at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

