Special Dinner: June 2013

June 27, 2013 § 2 Comments

Mr. E decided on doing special dinners with a color theme this year. When Mr. E was little, he associated months with a combination of two colors (much like his colors for weekdays). His aim is to make dinner with ingredients that are naturally as close to each month’s colors as possible; food dyes are right out for this project. June colors are blue and yellow.

Jun 2013 Special Dinner

Blue is such a tough color to achieve naturally, so we ended up having a lot of yellow things to eat. We started with a saffron-dyed white gazpacho (based on cucumber and yogurt). The color came out very delicate. It’s based on a recipe from one of Martha Stewart’s publications, but we’ve made our own changes to it. (Neither of the two recipes I found on the MS site matches the one we looked at, but it was many years ago now, so no surprise there.)

For the main course, Mr. E made a sweet yellow curry with yellow peppers, pineapple, coconut milk, and fresh monkfish, served on a bed of saffron-colored basmati rice. He recently joined a community-supported fishing program. Each week, we get half a share of fresh, filleted fish straight from the co-operative of fishermen that catches it. It’s a bit of a drive, but it’s so worth it: I’ve never had better fish anywhere! (And I’ve lived all of my life a sea / ocean, so fresh fish hasn’t exactly been a rarity!) For dessert, we had delicious home-made blueberry sorbet.

Jun 2013 Table

For the table, I used my runner made with yellow and orange Marimekko poppy fabric and a store-bought white runner layered. I really should have saved saved the yellow and orange runner for August, but I was impatient and wanted to use it. Nothing stopping me from re-using it, of course. 🙂 Besides, this way I was able to use these Pier1 Celeste plates that just happen to have small orange dots on them; they coordinate very nicely with the Marimekko runner. Yellow napkins stand for placemats. Blue napkins and blue water glasses add more blue. The most vibrant blue comes from the vase, though, and I collected wild flowers from our yard to fill it. They’re birdsfoot trefoils, as far as I can tell.

Birdsfoot Trefoil

Birdsfoot Trefoil

The small flowers remind me of orchids a little bit. Very pretty. I also included the blue glass turtle in honor of the one we saw on our yard.

I was very happy with this dinner. Everything was so yummy! This definitely ranks among Mr. E’s most successful special dinners.

(Note: I do not not publish sponsored content, or accept gifts or discounts to write about products. Blog posts are based on my personal opinion.)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Special Dinner: June 2013

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Special Dinner: June 2013 at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

