New Dishware from Marimekko

September 24, 2013 § 3 Comments

I stumbled upon a photo of a blue and a green plate in a U.S. home magazine, and since blue and green are my and Mr. E’s colors, I had to check it out. Turns out they’re from one of Marimekko’s new tableware lines for the fall.

The series is called Sääpäiväkirja (Weather Diary). I pretty much grew up with Marimekko, but I nevertheless find that most of their designs are really not my style. The same applies to the Sääpäiväkirja line – I like a handful of things, but not everything.

This dinner plate reminds me of sky or water when the weather is changing in the fall:

Marimekko Oiva Saapaivakirja Blue

Oiva Sääpäiväkirja / Marimekko.

The green salad plate looked much more vibrant in the magazine photo I saw. This Marimekko store photo is a bit disappointing in comparison:

Marimekko Oiva Saapaivakirja Green

Oiva Sääpäiväkirja / Marimekko.

The yellow pattern evokes a sunrise through mist, in my mind:

Marimekko Oiva Saapaivakirja Yellow

Oiva Sääpäiväkirja / Marimekko.

I don’t like square or rectangular dishes, though; I kinda wish they’d put this pattern on something else.

Marimekko also produced their ubiquitous Pörkki serving dish in a Sääpäiväkirja version:

Marimekko Porkki Saapaivakirja Serving

Oiva Sääpäiväkirja / Marimekko.

The greens in the serving dish suit Mr. E’s sensibility more than the salad plate, I think. If it came with greyish blue, not turquoise, I might be tempted. We’re really not a turquoise household.

My favorite is the blue dinner plate. Of course. 🙂

(Note: I do not not publish sponsored content, or accept gifts or discounts to write about products. Blog posts are based on my personal opinion.)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to New Dishware from Marimekko

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Dishware from Marimekko at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

