Strange Spore Shows Its Innards

September 23, 2016 § Leave a comment

Remember the strange spore pod I ran into six years ago? (Sidenote: SIX years! Wow. Time sure flies.)

Well, now I know what it is and what’s inside:

Spore Pod Fall 2016

I found this pod in the yard, more or less in the same spot where I found the previous one. It looks a little like a chestnut inside.

However, it’s not a nut or a seed pod at all. It’s the nursery (or gall) of a type of wasp. Oak apple gall wasp looks the likeliest, but I don’t properly care to find out for sure. We definitely do have oaks around, as well as many types of wasps, even I can tell that. The solid spot in the middle is where the (one) larva lives – this one looks like it was opened and eaten by a predator.

Brrr! I hate wasps.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strange Spore Shows Its Innards at Kotona ~ At Home.

meta

